Kudos Distribution

The Wreckery – Fake Is Forever (Limited) (Gusstaff Records)

The limited version (clear vinyl 200g + 7″) contains 2 original Wreckery tracks from 12″EP “Ruling Energy” (1988). First time available again on vinyl.

This is The Wreckery album that never was but always should have been!

At the crest of the Australian post punk era, The Wreckery played atmospheric rock with film-noir swagger and renegade attitude, carving a loyal following. Critics quickly positioned them as successors to a darkly exciting avant-garde Melbourne tradition previously marked out by The Birthday Party.

Early recordings for Rampant Records (1985-87) showcased The Wreckery’s fusion of swamp blues and noir-jazz, delivered with a deadpan, reckless, and romantic cut (check out the ‘Ruling Energy’ video!). Creative tensions saw the band implode as they were reaching their peak with the Laying Down Law album (Citadel Records, 1988). Yet another great and dangerous rock ‘n’ roll band who became a danger to themselves.

35 years later, the new album Fake is Forever delivers on unfulfilled promises, revealing The Wreckery on fire like never before. The DNA is still there – the signature sound of Charles Todd’s baritone sax; the scathing lyrics and vocals of Hugo Race; the distorted angular guitars of Clayton-Jones; the eclecticism of multi-instrumentalist Robin Casinader; Nick Barker and former Plays With Marionettes drummer Frank Trobbiani fuse as the solid engine room of this iconic group. All the original edge with a new maturity and control.

The songs still emanate from the deep, dark end of the musical gene pool. The sarcastic, provocative lyrics of ‘Smack Me Down’, ‘Get A Name’ and ‘Young People’; the musical fury of ‘Stole it from Alpha Ray’ and ‘Evil Eye’, the romantic melodrama of ‘The Devil in You’ and ‘Whistle Clean’, the deranged rock of ‘Dragonfly’ and ‘Garbage Juice’ – The Wreckery’s range is as vast as it is ferocious. Whereas the band in the 80’s were brash and angry this record finds the band conjuring quiet menace, sensual, intoxicating.

Hugo Race – vocals, guitars, keys

Ed Clayton-Jones – guitar, piano, synth, Mellotron, slide guitar , Solina string synth

Nick Barker – bass guitar and backing vocals

Charles Todd – the saxophones

Robin Casinader – Hammond organ, mellotron, mandolin and violin
Frank Trobbiani – the drums and percussion

Recorded by Andrew ‘Idge’ Hehir at Soundpark Studios, Melbourne
Mixed by Hugo Race at Helixed
Mastered by Toto Strapporava at 3Faders Studio, Buenos Aires
Published by Peermusic

Listen here